Ignition Interlock and DUI Laws In Arizona

Stop Drunk Driving SignArizona has strict driving under the influence (DUI) laws, and is one of the growing number of states requiring ignition interlocks for all offenders upon a first DUI conviction.

Arizona DUI and ignition interlock laws include standard, extreme, and aggravated DUI.

  • A standard DUI occurs when you are driving with a blood alcohol level (BAC) of .08 or more in a standard vehicle like a car, truck, or van.
  • An extreme DUI occurs when you are driving with a BAC of 0.15 or higher
  • Aggravated DUI is when you are arrested for DUI with a suspended or cancelled license, have a 3rd DUI offense within 84 months, or commit DUI with a passenger under the age of 15 in the vehicle

Penalties for a first offense, standard DUI include:

  • Minimum of 24 hours to 10 days in jail
  • Fines of $250 to $1,250
  • License suspension for 90 to 360 days
  • An ignition interlock installation for any vehicle you drive
  • Community service
  • Completion of an alcohol/drug screening program

If you receive a second DUI for a standard offense, you’ll receive:

  • Jail time from 30 days to 90 days
  • Fines ranging from $500 to $3,000
  • License suspension of 1 year
  • Ignition interlock installation in any vehicle you drive
  • Community service
  • Completion of an alcohol/drug screening program

The more severe the DUI offense, the more penalties you’ll face in Arizona. The extreme DUI classification has the following penalties:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Fines of approximately $2500 including a $1250 for extreme DUI assessment
  • Loss of license for 1 year
  • Ignition interlock installation in every vehicle you drive
  • Community service
  • Completion of an alcohol/drug screening program

Arizona also has the distinction of being one of the few states with the ‘super extreme DUI’ classification and is applicable if the offender has a BAC of .200 or over. Penalties for super extreme DUI include 45 days in prison, high fines, and you must install an ignition interlock in your vehicle for 18 months.

Driving under the influence arrests in Arizona are decreasing, with 29,163 in 2013 compared to 32,171 in 2012. Hopefully, with such strict ignition interlock and DUI laws in Arizona, those numbers will drop even more.

Call Now Button800-499-0994