Connecticut laws require that anyone convicted in a court of a DUI serve a suspension of 45 days, or until one’s 21st birthday, whichever is longer. After that time an interlock is required for one to three years, depending on prior DUI offenses.
Steps to Obtaining a Restricted Driver’s License During Your Suspension:
- Send a check or money order for the restoration fee of $175.00, payable to the “CT DMV.”
- Wait for the required suspension period.
- Fill out an Ignition Interlock Device Installation Application (P-246) form and mail with the $100.00 administration fee to Department of Motor Vehicles, Driver Services Division, 60 State Street, Wethersfield, Connecticut 06161-2525.
- Have a valid registration for every vehicle on which an interlock will be installed.
- Once your application is approved, the form will be mailed back to you, along with another form authorizing the installation.
- Make an appointment with an approved ignition interlock installer.
- Bring both forms to the approved ignition interlock device vendor for installation.
- Once the interlock has been installed, return the P-246 form confirming the installation(s) to the DMV at the above address, so the DMV can verify the installation.
- After the program participant’s operator’s license is restored, a final approval letter and restoration notice will be mailed.
- You must obtain a valid license or Adult Learner’s Permit.
Note: If you change your personal information, or change vehicles or interlock devices, you must complete the Ignition Interlock Device Change of Application Record (P-247) form and mail it to the DMV within 48 hours of the change.