Mississippi Approved & Certified
Guardian is an approved and certified ignition interlock provider in Mississippi. Our Mississippi experts can guide you through the interlock process.
Online Appointment Scheduling
You can schedule your installation in 5 minutes or less with our convenient online scheduling tool. Just answer a few questions and you are all set.
Most Affordable Interlock Program
Guardian has been the most affordable ignition interlock program for more than 30 years. We make your life easier by offering honest, affordable pricing options up front.
DUI Laws In Mississippi
Administrative License Revocation (ALR) Procedures
Mississippi Department of Public Safety
Mississippi is one of 42 states that has implemented ALR which means that your license will be confiscated immediately if your BAC is above .08 OR if you refuse a BAC test. Your license will either be suspended or revoked at that point, even though you have not been officially convicted in a criminal trial. In fact, you can be charged with an administrative license suspension even if you are not later charged with a driving under the influence offense. This action was designed to be in addition to and separate from the traditional DUI judicial conviction penalties such as license suspension, jail time, community service hours, ignition interlock device (IID), and alcohol and drug rehabilitation.
You will be given a 10 day grace period during which you can drive under a temporary driving permit issued by the officer at the scene. During that time, you can request a hearing to challenge this case. This case will be heard by an administrative law judge. If you do not request a hearing, your license will be automatically suspended on the 11th day for 90 days. After the suspension period, you will have a restricted license allowing you to drive to work or school, health care providers, parole or probation meetings, drug and alcohol counseling, court approved locations and emergencies. Mississippi allows you to install an interlock device in lieu of suspension time after 30 days.
Remember that this is a separate case than the judicial case, with separate authorities and separate rulings. This can be a very important influence upon the judicial procedures, but you must act very quickly if you wish to challenge this.
In Mississippi, the drunk driving law prohibits a person from driving when they have a BAC of .08% or higher. Courts are required to order the installation and monitoring of an interlock device for any driver whose BAC levels are .08% or higher on a second offense.
Mississippi DUI Resources
If you need to regain your license in Colorado, Guardian can guide you through the process quickly and affordably.
*Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from Guardian Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to the LifeSafer, do not constitute an endorsement by Guardian Interlock.
Why choose Guardian?
- Most affordable interlock solution
- Accurate technology – no false positives
- Expert technicians to help you every step of the way
- Direct communication with the state monitoring authorities to reduce hassles and keep you in compliance with state reporting requirements
- 24/7/365 customer service, so you’ve always got the support you need
Mississippi License Revocation, Fines, and Jail
Misdemeanor: up to 48 hours in jail, fines up to $1,000, license suspension from 90 days up to 1 year. Driver education program. Restricted driving privileges may be reinstated after 30 days with the installation of an interlock ignition device.
Misdemeanor: 5 days to 1 year in jail. $600 to $1,500 in fines, license suspension for up to 2 years (may be eligible for reinstatement of driving privileges after 1 year if court-approved treatment program completed), minimum 6 months ignition interlock upon license reinstatement, 10 days to 1 year community service, vehicle impound and sale of vehicle OR ignition interlock restriction during period of suspension if other licensed drivers are dependent on the vehicle, and alcohol/drug abuse assessment and treatment as required.
Felony: 1 to 5 years in jail, $2,000 to $5,000 in fines, 5-year license suspension, (may be eligible for reinstatement of driving privileges after 3 years if court-approved treatment program completed), minimum 6 months ignition interlock restriction upon license reinstatement, impound and sale of vehicle OR ignition interlock restriction during period of suspension if other licensed drivers are dependent on the vehicle, and alcohol/drug abuse assessment and treatment as required..
Ignition Interlock Pricing In Mississippi
An ignition interlock device in Mississippi costs about $3 per day. Guardian provides exceptional customer service and a top-rated device that is tested and calibrated for superior performance and accuracy.
Regain Your Mississippi License
Get back on the road today. Speak to a Mississippi expert now to get started.