Missouri has two sets of procedures that you must attend to when you have been charged with a DWI—administrative and judicial. We suggest that you consult with a DUI/DWI attorney immediately to make sure you get the best advice for your particular situation as laws are always changing.
Administrative License Revocation (ALR) Procedures
Missouri Department of Revenue MV/DL
Missouri is one of 42 states that has implemented ALR which means that your license will be confiscated immediately if your BAC is above .08 OR if you refuse a BAC test. Your license will either be suspended or revoked at that point, even though you have not been officially convicted in a criminal trial. In fact, you can be charged with an administrative license suspension even if you are not later charged with a driving under the influence offense. This action was designed to be in addition to and separate from the traditional DWI judicial conviction penalties such as license suspension, jail time, community service hours, ignition interlock device (IID), and alcohol and drug rehabilitation.
You will be given a 15 day grace period during which you can drive under a temporary driving permit issued by the officer at the scene. During that time, you can request a hearing to challenge this case. This case will be heard by an administrative law judge. If you do not request a hearing, your license will be automatically suspended on the 16th day for 90 days. After the suspension period, you will have a restricted license allowing you to drive to work or school, health care providers, parole or probation meetings, drug and alcohol counseling, court approved locations and emergencies. Missouri allows you to install an interlock device in lieu of suspension after 30 days.
Remember that this is a separate case than the judicial case, with separate authorities and separate rulings. This can be a very important influence upon the judicial procedures, but you must act very quickly if you wish to challenge this.
In Missouri, the drunk driving law prohibits a person from driving when they have a BAC of .08% or higher. Courts are required to order the installation and monitoring of an interlock device for any driver whose BAC levels are .08% or higher, even if it is your first offense.
License Revocation, Fines and Jail
- First Offense – Misdemeanor: Up to 6 months in jail, up to $500 in fines, 90 days driver’s license suspension (eligible for restricted driving privileges after 30 days), ignition interlock restriction upon license reinstatement for not less than 6 months, must complete substance abuse program before driver’s license reinstated.
- Second Offense – Misdemeanor: Up to 1 year in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, 1 to 5 years license revocation, mandatory ignition interlock restriction upon license reinstatement for not less than 6 months, must complete substance abuse program before driver’s license reinstated.
- Third and Subsequent Offense – Felony: Up to 5 years in jail, up to $5,000 in fines, 10 years driver’s license revocation, mandatory ignition interlock restriction upon license reinstatement for not less than 6 months, must complete substance abuse program before driver’s license reinstated.
Need an Ignition Interlock in Missouri? Start with Guardian Interlock®
Guardian Interlock offers complete installation and monitoring of an ignition interlock device on a wide range of vehicles to help you maintain compliance with Missouri driving restrictions.
- Most affordable interlock solution
- Accurate technology – no false positives
- Expert technicians to help you every step of the way
- Direct communication with the state monitoring authorities to reduce hassles and keep you in compliance with state reporting requirements
- 24/7/365 customer service, so you’ve always got the support you need