The Montana Motor Vehicle Division offers a restricted probationary license to eligible applicants who need to drive to work while their regular licenses are suspended or revoked. After a DUI conviction, you may be eligible to drive after 90 days of your license suspension/revocation period for first-time offenders. Typically this requires that you attend and complete a chemical dependency education course, treatment, or both, depending on the court order. An ignition interlock device is required for everyone who has a BAC of .08 or above, for a second or subsequent offense.
Steps to Obtaining a Restricted Driver’s License During Your Suspension:
- Serve any jail time and mandatory suspension time (required period before interlock may be installed, at least 90 days).
- Complete a chemical dependency education course, treatment, or both, as ordered by the court.
- Obtain SR-22 proof of insurance.
- If required, call an authorized ignition interlock provider and make an appointment to have an ignition interlock installed. They will verify your eligibility for an interlock. Once your interlock is installed, the installer will give you a certificate confirming the installation.
- Fill out the Application for Restricted Probationary License form. For questions about this, and how to obtain a form, contact the Motor Vehicle Division at: Motor Vehicle Division, Department of Justice, Scott Hart Building, Second Floor, 303 North Roberts, P.O. Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430, (406) 444-3933
- Take all paperwork and reapply for your driver’s license. You may have to retake your eye and written exams.
- Pay all fees and fines including a $200 fine to the Motor Vehicle Division of the Montana Department of Justice.
- Once you have your license, you will be required to bring in your vehicle to the interlock provider each month for the length of time you are required to have it.