The New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) does not offer a restricted or hardship license for those who have had their license suspended or revoked, however, you can petition for reinstatement after ninety days if you have completed the Impaired Driver Care Management Program (IDCMP) within 14 days of sentencing and comply with all requirements (must be scheduled within 3 days of sentencing).
New Hampshire law requires that an ignition interlock device be installed for any offense where the BAC is 0.15 or greater, even for first offenses.
Steps to Reinstate Your Driver’s License After Suspension:
- Serve any jail time and mandatory suspension time (the required period before interlock may be installed).
- Obtain SR-22 proof of insurance.
- Complete the Impaired Driver Intervention Program (required for first offenses).
- Complete any follow-up treatment prescribed from the IDIP program. Review the details for IDCMP here.
- If required to install an ignition interlock device, call an authorized interlock provider and make an appointment to have an ignition interlock installed. They will verify your eligibility for an interlock. Once your interlock is installed, the installer will give you a certificate confirming the installation.
- Take all paperwork and reapply for your driver’s license.
- If your license has been suspended for 3 years or more, you’ll need to complete written, vision, and drive examinations.
- Pay all fees and fines.
- Once you have your license, you will be required to bring in your vehicle to the interlock provider each month for the length of time you are required to have it.
For more information contact the New Hampshire Bureau of Motor Vehicles.