The new Texas law provides you with the opportunity to DRIVE IMMEDIATELY once you install an Ignition Interlock Device.
Call 800-499-0994 NOW and talk to one of our Texas Ignition Interlock Specialists who will take you through the process of getting back on the road quickly, safely, and legally.
Texas Department of Public Safety Texas is one of 42 states that has implemented ALR which means that your license will be confiscated immediately if your BAC is above .08 OR if you refuse a BAC test. Your license will either be suspended or revoked at that point, even though you have not been officially convicted in a criminal trial. In fact, you can be charged with an administrative license suspension even if you are not later charged with driving under the influence offense. This action was designed to be in addition to and separate from the traditional DWI judicial conviction penalties such as license suspension, jail time, community service hours, ignition interlock device, and alcohol and drug rehabilitation.
You will be given a 15 day grace period during which you can drive under a temporary driving permit issued by the officer at the scene. During that time, you can request a hearing to challenge this case. This case will be heard by an administrative law judge. If you do not request a hearing, your license will be automatically remain suspended on the 16th day for 3 months. After the suspension period, you will have a restricted license allowing you to drive to work or school, health care providers, parole or probation meetings, drug and alcohol counseling, court-approved locations, and emergencies. Texas allows you to install an interlock device in lieu of suspension after 30 days.
Remember that this is a separate case from the judicial case, with separate authorities and separate rulings. This can be a very important influence upon the judicial procedures, but you must act very quickly if you wish to challenge this.
In Texas, the drunk driving law prohibits a person from driving when they have a BAC of .08% or higher. Courts are required to order the installation and monitoring of an interlock device for any driver whose BAC levels are .15% or higher, even for the first offense.
Texas DWI Resources
If you need to regain your license in Colorado, Guardian can guide you through the process quickly and affordably.
*Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from Guardian Interlock to other sites, or from other sites to Guardian, do not constitute an endorsement by Guardian Interlock.
Why choose Guardian?
Most affordable interlock solution
Accurate technology – no false positives
Expert technicians to help you every step of the way
Direct communication with the state monitoring authorities to reduce hassles and keep you in compliance with state reporting requirements
24/7/365 customer service, so you’ve always got the support you need
State License Restoration Checklist
Download your state license restoration checklist to know exactly what you need to do to restore your driving privileges.
Misdemeanor: up to $2,000 fine [up to $4,000 if BAC 0.15% or more], 72 hours to 180 days in jail [up to 1 year in jail if BAC 0.15% or more], 90 days to 1-year license suspension, and an annual fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for three years to retain driver license. Possible ignition interlock restriction for not less than 50% of any supervision period.
Misdemeanor: up to $4,000 fine, 30 days to 1 year in jail, 1 to 2 years license suspension, and an annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for three years to retain driver license. Possible ignition interlock restriction for not less than 50% of any supervision period.
Third Offense and Subsequent Offenses – Felony
Misdemeanor: up to $10,000 fine, 2 years to 10 years in jail, 1 to 2 years license suspension, and an annual fee of $1,000, $1,500, or $2,000 for three years to retain driver license. Possible ignition interlock restriction for not less than 50% of any supervision periodIIDs for a period of four years.
Ignition Interlock Pricing In Texas
An ignition interlock device in Texas costs about $3 per day. Guardian provides exceptional customer service and a top-rated device that is tested and calibrated for superior performance and accuracy.