The Utah Department of Public Safety (DPS) offers limited licenses to eligible applicants who need to drive to work while their regular licenses are suspended or revoked for a DUI. You may receive a limited license that allows you to drive only to and from work, but you’ll have to have a hearing to apply for one. You must also be violation-free for 1 year. Utah law requires that all persons convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) must have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle.
The Utah DPS lists the requirements needed to apply for a limited license.
Steps to Obtaining a Restricted Driver’s License During Your Suspension:
- If you wish to request a hearing within 10 days of your arrest to challenge your suspension, fax this form to the Driver License Division at 801.964.4499
- You’ll also want to retrieve your vehicle right away if it’s been impounded. Present proof of ownership at any DMV office, along with a copy of the TC-540 Vehicle Impound Report and your photo ID. Pay the $330 DUI impound fee and obtain a letter of release from the DMV. You can bring the letter with your Photo ID, pay towing and storage fees, and retrieve your vehicle.
- If you are convicted of DUI in court, you will have to have an interlock installed. You will first have to wait out the required suspension period.
- Make an appointment to have your ignition interlock installed by calling toll-free 800-499-0994.
- Guardian will verify your eligibility for an interlock with the DMV. Once your interlock installed, Guardian will give you a certificate confirming the installation.
- Go to the DMV, or call 888-353-4224 to pay the $65 reinstatement fee and $170 administrative fee.
- Once you have your limited license, you need to return to a Guardian Interlock service location once a month for your monitoring appointment for the duration of your restriction period.
Need an Ignition Interlock in Utah? Start with Guardian Interlock®
Guardian Interlock offers complete installation and monitoring of an ignition interlock device on a wide range of vehicles to help you maintain compliance with Utah driving restrictions.
- Most affordable interlock solution
- Accurate technology – no false positives
- Expert technicians to help you every step of the way
- Direct communication with the state monitoring authorities to reduce hassles and keep you in compliance with state reporting requirements
- 24/7/365 customer service, so you’ve always got the support you need