Wyoming has two sets of procedures that you must attend to when you have been charged with a DUI—administrative and judicial. We suggest that you consult with a DUI attorney immediately to make sure you get the best advice for your particular situation as laws are always changing.
Administrative License Revocation (ALR) Procedures
Wyoming Department of Transport (DOT)
Wyoming is one of 42 states that has implemented ALR which means that your license will be confiscated immediately if your BAC is above .08 OR if you refuse a BAC test. Your license will either be suspended or revoked at that point, even though you have not been officially convicted in a criminal trial. In fact, you can be charged with an administrative license suspension even if you are not later charged with driving under the influence offense. This action was designed to be in addition to and separate from the traditional DUI judicial conviction penalties such as license suspension, jail time, community service hours, ignition interlock device (IID), and alcohol and drug rehabilitation.
You will be given a 10 day grace period during which you can drive under a temporary driving permit issued by the officer at the scene. During that time, you can request a hearing to challenge this case. This case will be heard by an administrative law judge. If you do not request a hearing, your license will be automatically remain suspended on the 11th day for 6 months. After the suspension period, you will have a restricted license allowing you to drive to work or school, health care providers, parole or probation meetings, drug and alcohol counseling, court-approved locations, and emergencies. Wyoming allows you to install an interlock device in lieu of suspension after 30 days.
Remember that this is a separate case from the judicial case, with separate authorities and separate rulings. This can be a very important influence upon the judicial procedures, but you must act very quickly if you wish to challenge this.
In Wyoming, the drunk driving law prohibits a person from driving when they have a BAC of .08% or higher. Courts are required to order the installation and monitoring of an interlock device for any driver whose BAC levels are .15% or higher, even if a first offense.
License Revocation, Fines and Jail
- First Offense – Misdemeanor: up to $750 fine, up to 6 months in jail, 90 days license suspension, ignition interlock restriction required IF BAC 0.15 or more for 6 months from date of conviction, and substance abuse assessment and treatment as required.
- Second Offense – Misdemeanor: $200 to $750 fine, 7 days to 6 months in jail, 1-year license suspension, 1-year ignition interlock restriction from the date of conviction, and substance abuse assessment and treatment as required.
- Third Offense – Misdemeanor: $750 to $3,000 fine, 30 days to 6 months in jail, 3 years license suspension, substance abuse assessment and treatment as required, and 2 years ignition interlock restriction from the date of conviction. Possible inpatient treatment program.
- Fourth and Subsequent Offense – Felony: up to $10,000 fine, up to 7 years in jail, indefinite license suspension, lifetime ignition interlock restriction from the date of conviction (can appeal for removal after 5 years), and substance abuse assessment and treatment as required.