The Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles offers limited/conditional licenses to eligible applicants who need to drive to work while their regular licenses are suspended or revoked. After an OUI (Operating under the Influence) conviction, you may be eligible to drive after 30 days of your license suspension/revocation period if you complete the Driver Education Evaluation Program (DEEP) and install an ignition interlock device. An ignition interlock device is required for everyone who has a BAC of .08 or above, even for first offenders.
Steps to Obtaining a Limited/Conditional Driver’s License During Your Suspension:
- Serve any jail time and mandatory suspension time (the required period before interlock may be installed).
- Obtain SR-22 proof of insurance. An insurance agent can help you with this.
- Complete 20-hour Driver Education Evaluation Program (DEEP) or substance abuse counseling.
- Call an authorized ignition interlock provider and make an appointment to have an ignition interlock installed. They will verify your eligibility for an interlock. Once your interlock is installed, the installer will give you a certificate confirming the installation.
- Take all paperwork and reapply for your driver’s license.
- Pay all fees and fines including $35 reinstatement feet to the Secretary of State.
- Once you have your license, you will be required to bring in your vehicle to the interlock provider each month for the length of time you are required to have it.
For more information contact the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles.