In April of 2017 “Annie’s Law” went into effect. The law increases the license suspension for first OVI offenders to one year.
Great News! Under the law, first offenders can have their 12-month license suspension reduced by half if they use an ignition interlock for at least six months.
Call 800-499-0994 NOW and talk to one of our Ohio Ignition Interlock Specialists who will take you through the process of getting back on the road quickly, safely, and legally.
— John Kasich (@JohnKasich) January 5, 2017
Ohio State Law
Ohio has two sets of procedures that you must attend to when you have been charged with an OVI—administrative and judicial. We suggest that you consult with an OVI attorney immediately to make sure you get the best advice for your particular situation as laws are always changing.
Administrative License Suspension (ALS) Procedures
Ohio BMV (Bureau of Motor Vehicles)
Ohio is one of 42 states that has implemented ALR which means that your license will be confiscated immediately if your BAC is above .08 OR if you refuse a BAC test. Your license will either be suspended or revoked at that point, even though you have not been officially convicted in a criminal trial. In fact, you can be charged with an administrative license suspension even if you are not later charged with driving under the influence offense. This action was designed to be in addition to and separate from the traditional OVI judicial conviction penalties such as license suspension, jail time, community service hours, ignition interlock device (IID), and alcohol and drug rehabilitation.
NOTE: Ohio is quite unique in the fact that the courts also order driver’s license suspensions in addition to the ALS (Administrative License Suspension) ordered by the Ohio BMV (Bureau of Motor Vehicles).
You can request a hearing to challenge this case. This case will be heard by an administrative law judge. If you do not request a hearing, your license will be automatically remain suspended on the 6th day for 1 to 6 months. After the suspension period, you will have a restricted license allowing you to drive to work or school, health care providers, parole or probation meetings, drug and alcohol counseling, court-approved locations, and emergencies.
Remember that this is a separate case from the judicial case, with separate authorities and separate rulings. This can be a very important influence upon the judicial procedures, but you must act very quickly if you wish to challenge this.
In Ohio, the drunk driving law prohibits a person from driving when they have a BAC of .08% or higher. Courts are required to order the installation and monitoring of an interlock device for any driver whose BAC levels are .08% or higher for a second offense.
License Revocation, Fines and Jail
- First Offense – Misdemeanor: 3 days to 6 months in jail, $375 to $1,075 in fines, Administrative License Suspension for 3 months, Court Imposed License Suspension for 6 months to 3 years, and driver’s intervention program. Possible alcohol/drug assessment and treatment programs. May be eligible for an ignition interlock restricted limited driving privileges after first 6 months of suspension.
- Second Offense – Misdemeanor: 10 days to 6 months in jail, $525 to $1,625 in fines, Administrative License Suspension for 1 year, Court Imposed License Suspension for 1 to 5 years, mandatory alcohol/drug assessment and treatment programs as required, possible house arrest with electronic monitoring and/or continuous alcohol monitoring, possible vehicle immobilization and plates impounded for 90 days. May be eligible for an ignition interlock restricted limited driving privileges after the first year of suspension.
- Third Offense – Misdemeanor: 30 days to 1 year in jail, $850 to $2,750 in fines, Administrative License Suspension for 2 years, Court Imposed License Suspension for 2 to 10 years, mandatory alcohol/drug assessment and treatment programs as required. May be eligible for an ignition interlock restricted limited driving privileges after first 3 years of suspension. Possible house arrest with electronic monitoring and/or continuous alcohol monitoring. Possible criminal vehicle forfeiture.
- Fourth and Subsequent Offense – Felony: 60 days to 5 years in jail, $1,350 to $10,500 fine, Administrative License Suspension for 3 years, Court Imposed License Suspension for 3 years to lifetime, mandatory alcohol/drug assessment and treatment programs as required. Possible house arrest with electronic monitoring and/or continuous alcohol monitoring. Possible criminal vehicle forfeiture.
Need an Ignition Interlock in Ohio? Start with Guardian Interlock®
Guardian Interlock offers complete installation and monitoring of an ignition interlock device on a wide range of vehicles to help you maintain compliance with Ohio driving restrictions.
- Most affordable interlock solution
- Accurate technology – no false positives
- Expert technicians to help you every step of the way
- Direct communication with the state monitoring authorities to reduce hassles and keep you in compliance with state reporting requirements
- 24/7/365 customer service, so you’ve always got the support you need