The Tennessee Department of Safety (DOS) offers restricted licenses to eligible applicants who need to drive to work while their regular licenses are suspended or revoked for a DUI. Tennessee ignition interlock laws require that any driver convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) must install an ignition interlock device, including an electronic log device, on every vehicle they own or which is registered to them.
Steps to Obtaining a Restricted Driver’s License During Your Suspension:
- Obtain a certified order from the court where you were convicted that says that you are eligible for a restricted license.
- Make an appointment to have your ignition interlock installed by calling toll-free 800-499-0994.
- Guardian will verify your eligibility for an interlock with the DMV. Once your interlock installed, Guardian will give you a certificate confirming the installation.
- Within 10 days of receiving the certified order from the court, present the original and a copy of the order to your local Driver Services Center.
- Submit proof of a valid Tennessee SR22 insurance policy.
- Pass the driver’s exam and pay a $67 fee. You can also pay this fee online.
For additional information, visit the Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security web site.
Need an Ignition Interlock in Tennessee? Start with Guardian Interlock®
Guardian Interlock offers complete installation and monitoring of an ignition interlock device on a wide range of vehicles to help you maintain compliance with Tennessee driving restrictions.
- Most affordable interlock solution
- Accurate technology – no false positives
- Expert technicians to help you every step of the way
- Direct communication with the state monitoring authorities to reduce hassles and keep you in compliance with state reporting requirements
- 24/7/365 customer service, so you’ve always got the support you need