Arizona might be home to stunning dessert vistas and temperatures that regularly top 110 degrees, but that’s not what the state is well known for. Out of all the states in the USA, Arizona places #1 on the list of harshest driving under the influence (DUI) laws in the entire country.
In terms of penalties, Arizona is leading the crackdown for drinking and driving. A first offender in the state will receive the following penalties:
- A minimum of 24 hours up to 10 days in jail
- Up to 360 days drivers license suspension
- $250 base fine
- Mandatory ignition interlock
The jail time for a first offender is unique, and Arizona is one of many states jumping on board in requiring first offenders to install an ignition interlock. If you think the penalties for a first time DUI in Arizona are harsh, here are the penalties for a second time DUI offender:
- A minimum of 30 days in jail up to 90 days
- A base fine of $500
- One year drivers license suspension
- Mandatory ignition interlock required
If that’s not enough to scare you, you can receive more severe penalties depending on your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at the time of arrest. If you have a BAC of .15 or higher, you could be charged with Extreme DUI. Anything higher than a .20 on a breathalyzer will result in a charge of Super Extreme DUI.
Even if you’re a first time offender, if you’re charged with Super Extreme DUI you’ll be looking at penalties that line up with someone charged with a felony DUI.
- Minimum jail time of 45 days
- An extended ignition interlock program. While a first time DUI offender will need to install an ignition interlock for one year, someone convicted of Super Extreme DUI will have to install one for 18 months
Maybe if more states followed Arizona’s example, drinking and driving would be a thing of the past in the United States.