When it comes to ignition interlock devices, the state of Colorado has some of the toughest laws around. You’ll be required to install an ignition interlock device if you were arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), refused to submit to a breathalyzer test, or you’re considered a habitual traffic offender. That means if you are convicted of 3 offenses over a 7 year period of time, including DUI, driving while ability impaired (DWAI) or reckless driving, your driver’s license will be revoked for 5 years and you’ll be required to install an ignition interlock device upon application for a restricted license.
When you have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle, you’re required to submit breath tests before your vehicle will start and submit a breath sample once your vehicle is in motion. But what happens if you submit a breath test and you receive a fail?
If you attempt to blow into your interlock device and you receive a fail, your car won’t start. If your vehicle is in motion and you fail a rolling retest, the vehicle’s horn will sound and your lights will flash until you safely pull over and turn off your vehicle. All data from your interlock device will be compiled and submitted to Guardian Interlock when you bring your vehicle in for servicing, so any fails logged on your interlock device are kept track of.
In Colorado, you must bring your interlock device in for calibration every 60 days. If the data submitted shows alcohol was detected 3 times in a 12-month period, you may receive additional time added to your license suspension and additional time added to your interlock program. According to Colorado ignition interlock law, you may be required to add one year to your program for each set of 3 fails.
Failing a breath test in Colorado is never a good idea, so stay sober and always make the decision to hand over the keys to a sober driver if you’ve been drinking.