Driving under the influence (DUI) is a criminal offense in the United States. When you’re charged with DUI, you’ll receive criminal penalties like jail time, fines, and the possibility of an ignition interlock installation. You could also receive administrative penalties including a restriction placed on your license that prevents you from purchasing alcohol.
Since passing an all offenders interlock law in 2009, any offender convicted under the current DUI laws in Alaska is eligible for an interlock installation. Even if you’re stopped on suspicion for DUI and you refuse to submit to a blood alcohol test (BAC), you will receive an interlock before you can drive again. Take a first DUI refusal as an example – it will net you 3 days in jail, $1500 in fines, and a mandatory ignition interlock installation. For each subsequent refusal, you’ll receive more jail time, higher fines, and a longer ignition interlock installation.
If you’re convicted of DUI in Alaska and it’s your first offense, you’ll receive:
- A minimum of 72 hour jail time
- $1500 payable in fines
- License suspension for a minimum of 90 days
- Installation of an ignition interlock device
Second driving under the influence offense penalties include:
- A minimum of 20 days in jail
- Fines payable up to $3000
- A minimum of 1 year license suspension
- An ignition interlock installation
Driving under the influence laws in Alaska don’t end with the mandatory interlock, fines, and jail time. If you’re spending time in jail due to a DUI, you could be required to take medication that will prevent you from consuming alcohol. The court might ask you to attend a drug or alcohol treatment or education program as well.
DUI laws in Alaska are strict, and anyone living or driving in the state should read up on these laws and never get behind the wheel of a vehicle after drinking.