Arizona is a state that really has it together when it comes to drunk driving, and it’s all because they understand one fundamental principle: not all drunk drivers are created equal. That’s why there are three different levels of driving under the influence (DUI) penalties in Arizona, and this escalating penalty system is one definite way to crack down on drunk drivers.
First-time drunk driving arrest in Arizona
If you’re stopped for drunk driving and are arrested in Arizona with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 to .0.14, you’re going to be spending ten days in jail. As far as other penalties go, you’ll be up to $1250 out of pocket, have to undergo alcohol education, and because Arizona is an all offender ignition interlock state, you’ll also have to install an ignition interlock in any vehicle you operate.
Extreme DUI in Arizona
The next level of drunk driving penalties will be yours if you’re a first offender arrested with a BAC of 0.15 or higher. That type of DUI is called an Extreme DUI and you’ll be jailed for thirty days and fined at least $2,500. You’ll also have to attend alcohol education and install an ignition interlock in any vehicle you drive.
Super Extreme DUI
It’s true: Arizona has a super extreme DUI penalty program that’s just for first and subsequent offenders who are arrested with a BAC of 0.20 and above. It’s not a felony charge, but carries jail time that’s more significant than what you’d get with a first time felony in Arizona.
A first offender charged with Super Extreme DUI will go to jail for a minimum of forty-five days and pay a minimum of $3,200 in fines. Your time with your ignition interlock will be extended too, because you’ll have to use the device for a period of eighteen months.
Arizona doesn’t make it easy on drunk driving offenders, but that’s a good thing. Maybe if more states got on board with different penalty levels like those in Arizona, people would think twice before drinking and driving.