3 Reasons Arizona Drunk Driving Laws Work

Arizona drunk driving lawsIf you compare Arizona drunk driving laws today with Arizona in 2007, you’d see a huge difference in driving under the influence (DUI) related issues. That was the year Arizona passed its all offender ignition interlock law. Since that time the state has seen a significant decrease in drunk driving deaths.

That’s just one of the reasons why Arizona drunk driving laws are looked upon by Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) as a good role model for other states to follow. Here are a few others.

Arizona drunk driving laws have penalty tiers

One of the most unique things about Arizona drunk driving laws are its penalty tiers. You can be classified in a tier depending on what your blood alcohol content (BAC) was when you were arrested.

  • A Standard DUI involves someone with a BAC of .08
  • An Extreme DUI involves someone arrested with a BAC of 0.15
  • You can receive a Super Extreme DUI if you have a BAC of 0.20

Arizona has aggravated DUI penalties

In addition to the penalty tiers, you can also receive an aggravated DUI in Arizona. That happens if you drive on a suspended driver’s license or if you’re caught with three or more DUI charges within seven years. This charge can also be handed out if you drive with a minor under the age of fifteen in your vehicle, or if you drive drunk while you have an ignition interlock in your vehicle.

Arizona drunk driving penalties range in severity

If you’re going to receive a drunk driving charge in Arizona, you definitely don’t want to register a high number of your arresting officer’s breathalyzer. If you’re charged with a standard DUI you’ll receive jail time, fines, and an ignition interlock, but that’s small potatoes compared to what you’ll receive if you are arrested for an aggravated DUI.

An aggravated DUI is considered a class 4 felony in Arizona, and with that comes stiff fines up to $4,000 and from 4 months to 3 years 9 months prison.

All of these factors work together to stop drunk drivers in Arizona, and if any other state is considering an all offender ignition interlock law and working to change their DUI laws, they should give Arizona a look first.

Comments

  1. Correction to the above… maximum sentence is 3.75 years.

Speak Your Mind

*

800-499-0994