Sleet, Heat, And Your Guardian Interlock system

Guardian InterlockThere are certain parts of the USA that literally freeze over when winter hits. From ice storms to snow storms and everything in between, states like Minnesota, Utah, and Idaho suffer from frigid cold that leaves a layer of ice on everything left outside, including your Guardian Interlock.

So what happens to your Guardian Interlock when it’s below freezing outside? Don’t worry – although it’s a high tech device designed to measure your blood alcohol concentrations (BAC), it’s also engineered to work accurately in all types of weather. In extreme cold, you may require a slightly longer than average warm up time, but it should perform normally.

On the flip side of cold weather is blistering heat, and many states find themselves hitting extreme temperatures in the summer. When in steamy climates, you can ensure your Guardian Interlock is working well by avoiding long exposure to direct sunlight. Dirt and debris can also have an effect on your Guardian Interlock, so keeping both it and your vehicle clean will be beneficial to you during your program. You may wish to wipe down your interlock with a damp cloth on occasion, but when you clean it, just be sure to avoid using any sort of alcohol-based cleaner as that could result in you having a false-positive test.

In most states, you can take your Guardian Interlock off your vehicle and bring it inside. That way if it’s too cold outside or too hot, you won’t have to worry about it needing to warm up or cool down before starting your vehicle.

Having a driving under the influence (DUI) charge on your record is stressful and can cause a lot of worry, but neither snow nor rain nor heat will keep your Guardian Interlock from working properly. You can relax knowing that, when it’s time to start your vehicle during your interlock program, as long as you’re sober your interlock will work for you.

Ignition Interlock And DUI Laws in Georgia

ignition interlockDrinking and driving is dangerous, and that’s why there are driving under the influence (DUI) and ignition interlock laws created specifically for each and every state in the USA. Georgia DUI and ignition interlock laws include laws designed specifically for age brackets including under 15, ages 16 to 20, and 21 and older.

Georgia has zero tolerance for drinking drivers under the age of 21, meaning if you are younger than 21 you can’t have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of over 0.02% and still drive. Because Georgia’s Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA) allows 15 year olds to begin a graduated license system, there are provisions in Georgia’s DUI laws to cover drivers this young.

Penalties for a first DUI offense under the age of 15 include:

  • License suspension until the driver is 17 years old
  • Fees payable up to $210
  • Attendance at DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk program

Penalties for a first DUI offense between the ages of 16 to 20 include:

  • License suspension for six months if you have a BAC of .08 and under or 12 months if your BAC is over .08
  • Fines payable up to $210
  • Attendance at a DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk program

In Georgia, people between the ages of 16 to 20 are eligible for an ignition interlock device installation if they are found guilty of a second DUI offense. If you are a 16 to 20 year old and are guilty of a second DUI offense, the penalties include:

  • License suspension for 18 months
  • Fines payable up to $310
  • DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk program
  • Clinical evaluation and possible drug or alcohol treatment
  • With court permission, an ignition interlock installation after 120 days of license suspension

When you are over 21, the penalties for drinking and driving increase. If you are a first offender over the age of 21, you’ll receive:

  • License suspension of up to 1 year
  • Possible jail time of up to one year
  • Fines payable between $300 and $1000
  • $210 license reinstatement fee
  • Must attend Alcohol or Drug Risk Program
  • 40 hours of community service
  • Possibility of an ignition interlock installation if you are approved for a restricted driving permit.

Strict DUI and ignition interlock laws like those found in Georgia are designed to keep drinking drivers, including very young drinking drivers, off of the roads. No matter what state you live in or how old you are, stay safe by making the choice to drive sober.

Cheat The Interlock Device? Not A Good Idea

cheat interlockYou’ve been stopped for driving under the influence (DUI), and as part of your penalties you were asked by the judge to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. Because many states are requiring interlocks for all offenders including first time DUI offenders, thousands of people are now being required to install and maintain the interlock device for periods of six months or longer.

Just like any penalty required by law, there will be always be people who try to cheat the system and get out of serving their required interlock installation penalty. But tampering or cheating the interlock device is not a good idea, and depending on your state, there are severe penalties for those who do so. You may lose your restricted license and not be able to drive. Tampering with or cheating your ignition interlock can also result in an extension of the time you are required to have it installed in your vehicle.

If you take a look on the web for topics on cheating the interlock device, you’ll find hundreds of replies. From a YouTube video promoting a special tool designed to disable the interlock, step-by-step instructions on a blog on how to bypass the device, and a variety of questions and answers on how to make an appropriate humming noise when you blow into it with a fan to fool it into thinking it’s you submitting to a breath test, the ‘helpful’ advice on cheating the interlock device is available with a few clicks on your computer.

Fortunately for the thousands of people driving on the roads every day, fooling or cheating the interlock device doesn’t work. These devices are designed to test your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) when you first attempt to start the vehicle and during the period while you are driving. Having a friend blow into your ignition interlock to start your car or otherwise bypassing the device will only get you into more trouble with law enforcement than you already are.

If you have a DUI on record and one of your penalties is to install an interlock device, the best thing you can do for you and everyone on the road with you is to abide by the rules and regulations and never get in your vehicle after drinking.

 

What Happens To My Guardian Interlock After A Glass Of Wine?

Guardian InterlockLife can get pretty confusing after a driving under the influence (DUI) charge. You made the choice to drink and drive, and although you readily admit it was a mistake, there are still fines to pay, alcohol counseling to attend, and a license suspension to wait out. The idea of ‘normal’ life may seem far away, but you’ll find installing and following the Guardian Interlock program will be the easiest part of your DUI charge to fulfill.

Once you have your Guardian Interlock installed, you’ll probably wonder how much, if any, you can drink before you blow into it. Can you, for example, have a glass of wine with dinner and still drive your vehicle after?

Although the answer will depend on your state, for most the answer is no. State laws require that an ignition interlock device like your Guardian Interlock detect a predetermined level of alcohol. The level it detects is a lot lower than the legal limit of .08 for DUI or driving while intoxicated (DWI), and because that glass of wine will affect everyone differently, it’s safer to not attempt to drive after drinking any amount of alcohol.

So if a glass of wine with dinner is out, just how sensitive is an interlock device? Although all interlock devices will only detect alcohol and the sensitivity of the interlock is determined by the state in which you live, you may find your Guardian Interlock will be affected by trace residue left by types of alcohol not found in beer, wine, or spirits. Take Listerine mouthwash for example – it’s best to not gargle with mouthwash before you try to start your vehicle because you may just trigger a false-positive reading.

People make mistakes in life, and you want to learn from your DUI and move on. Although you can’t have a glass of wine with dinner and still drive with your Guardian Interlock, having the interlock device installed in your vehicle and using it properly will play an important part in your commitment to never get behind the wheel drunk again.

Installing An Ignition Interlock Is Easy With Guardian Interlock

GuardianVideoSidebarText2It’s Saturday night, and you’re out at the pub with good friends. Although you knew you would be drinking, no one stepped up and offered to be the designated driver for the evening. Once the drinks started flowing, no one thought about it again.

From the moment you picked up your car keys and got behind the wheel, you thought ‘maybe’ you were sober enough to drive. After all, you only had a few drinks and it’s not too far to get home. But in what seems like seconds there are police lights flashing in your rear view window, and the officer is asking you to blow into a Breathalyzer. This is the moment when a fun evening out turns into a life changing experience.

You made the decision to drive under the influence (DUI). Now it’s time to accept the fines and penalties handed to you by the courts, and part of that is installing an ignition interlock device.

That’s where Guardian Interlock comes in. Although the process of getting an ignition interlock might seem confusing at first, Guardian Interlock makes it really easy – so easy in fact that watching this video can explain everything in under 1 minute.

ignition interlock video

Give Guardian Interlock a call and make an appointment at one of the local service centers. You’ll meet with an experienced technician who will install your Guardian Ignition Interlock, show you have to use it, and send off your State reporting data. They’ll also explain how you’ll need to check back for interlock calibration occasionally.

Once your ignition interlock is installed, all you have to do is blow into it to test your breath, start your car, and begin driving normally. Guardian Interlock is committed to getting you through your program, and that’s why they offer the best price, the best technology, and the best service. Night or day, 365 days a year, Guardian Interlock will be there to support you.

Check out the video and give Guardian Interlock a call now. When you call, be sure to mention ‘Guardian Video’ and you’ll receive a special discount.

Pushing Toward Better Ignition Interlock Laws Across The USA

ignition interlockIt’s hard to believe Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) has been working on their Campaign to Eliminate Drunk Driving since 2006, and they’ve made so much progress in requiring states to pass all-offender ignition interlock laws. From only one state requiring interlocks in 2006 to 24 states in 2014, they’ve reduced drunk driving deaths by 24% overall.

This past week, Connecticut government officials took part in a bill-signing ceremony to ratify a law requiring ignition interlocks for all first time driving under the influence (DUI) offenders. Beginning on July 1st, 2015, the new law will give the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMW) the power to administratively require the installation of the devices on all vehicles of first time DUI offenders.

Connecticut joins Alabama, New Hampshire, Delaware, and Mississippi in signing all-offender interlock bills in 2014, and there are currently 4 states working to pass similar bills. Other states focused on closing any loopholes and improving interlock laws. Take South Carolina for example – the recent passing of Emma’s Law requires ignition interlocks for all repeat drunk driving offenders and any offender who drives with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .15 or more. As MADD has stated, South Carolina has one of the worst drunk driving records in the USA, and passing Emma’s Law is an important step in reducing drunk driving fatalities.

Florida is another state with recently improved interlock laws. Instead of vehicle impoundment, judges in the state can now order an ignition interlock installation for first-time DUI offenders who have a BAC of .08 to .14. They’ve also appointed a legislative study committee to consider an all-offender interlock law.

Although it’s clear significant improvements have been made since 2006, MADD will continue to push for better DUI laws, and they’ll continue asking more states to pass all-offender ignition interlock legislation in an effort to keep roads safe for everyone.

Ignition Interlock And Drunk Driving Laws In Colorado

ignition interlockThere’s a lot to do in Colorado if you’re looking for fun, fresh air, and the great outdoors, but the fun will end very abruptly if you’re caught drinking and driving.

Colorado drinking and driving laws include a driving under the influence (DUI) offense and a driving while ability impaired (DWAI) offense. A DUI offense occurs when you drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher, and a DWAI offense occurs when you have a BAC between .05 and .08.

A first offense for both DUI and DWAI in Colorado has penalties including:

  • Up to 1 year in jail for DUI and 180 days for DWAI
  • Fines up to $1000 for DUI and $500 for DWAI
  • 9 month license suspension for DUI, and no license suspension for DWAI

Although you will receive a 9 month license suspension for your first DUI offense in Colorado, after 1 month you have the option to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle and receive a restricted drivers license.

For a second DUI or DWAI offense in Colorado, penalties will include:

  • Up to 1 year in jail for both DUI and DWAI
  • $1500 in fines for both DUI and DWAI
  • License suspension for 1 year for both DUI and DWAI
  • An ignition interlock installation for both DUI and DWAI

Anyone who has had their license suspended for 1 year may be eligible for a restricted license before their suspension is up if they install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle.

Colorado doesn’t have a lookback period where a previous DUI or DWAI is no longer relevant for penalty purposes, so any DUI or DWAI charge on record will affect just how severe your penalties are.

Colorado also had a distinction for those who have a BAC of 0.17 or greater. Classified as a ‘persistent drunk driver’ these individuals are subject to DUI penalties and even first offenders will be required to use an ignition interlock device for 1 year.

It’s a great place to live and an even better place to visit, but when heading to Colorado be sure to stay safe and drive sober.

Even Police Officers Can Get An Ignition Interlock

ignition interlock No matter where you are in the United States, one of the first rules you’d learn if you were to become law enforcement is to uphold the letter of the law. So what happens when police officers break the law like the offenders they’re supposed to be out arresting?

When it comes to drinking and driving, police officers who drive while under the influence can and will be arrested just like anyone else. A great example? Oklahoma Highway Patrolman Joshua Davies was arrested and jailed in Seqyoyah Country after he crashed the state vehicle he was driving and the boat he was hauling jumped off the trailer hitch and flipped several times before landing in someone’s yard.

Suspected of driving while intoxicated (DWI), he was taken into custody after attempting to flee the scene and was found to have a blood alcohol level of .26. Because he’s law enforcement, he was placed on administrative leave from his job pending his DUI judgement.

Officer Davies isn’t the only member of law enforcement in trouble with the law recently. An Indianapolis Metropolitan police officer is in hot water after he was arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) a second time within a year. According to arresting officers, he was driving his patrol car at the time of arrest, and department policy states if an employee is caught with a blood alcohol level (BAC) of higher than .02, he or she will be fired. He’s currently on leave without pay and the review board is recommending his job be terminated.

Just like everyone else, police officers who drink and drive will receive jail time, fines, and may be required to install an ignition interlock device in their personal vehicle should a judge decide it’s necessary. Drinking and driving is a choice, and in the case of these officers, it’s a choice even law enforcement may make from time to time.

 

 

 

Ignition Interlock and Driving While Intoxicated Laws In Arkansas

driving while intoxicated in Arkansas.In 2012, there were 9226 people arrested for violating driving while intoxicated laws in Arkansas. To keep the roads safe, law enforcement will penalize anyone with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08, but the state also runs campaigns to let people know that ‘Buzzed Driving is Drunk Driving’ and you can and will be arrested even if your BAC doesn’t reach .08.

As with other states, young drinking drivers in Arkansas are not exempt from DWI laws. Anyone in Arkansas caught drinking under the legal drinking age of 21 or with a .02 BAC level can convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI). And if you’re stopped and you refuse a blood alcohol test, you’ll be subject to an immediate license suspension.

 

A first driving while intoxicated conviction in Arkansas will result in the following penalties:

  • 6 months driver’s license suspension
  • Jail time between one day and one year
  • Fines ranging from $150 to $1000
  • Completion of an adult education program
  • If you are driving with a passenger under the age of 16 in the vehicle, you’ll receive a 7 day to 1 year jail sentence
  • The possibility of an ignition interlock installation

If you receive a second driving while intoxicated conviction in Arkansas within 5 years of your first, the following penalties will apply:

  • Up to two year’s driver’s license suspension
  • Jail time ranging from 7 days up to 1 year
  • Fines ranging from $400 to $3000
  • The possibility of an ignition interlock installation
  • Completion of an Alcohol Education program
  • If you have a passenger under the age of 16 with you, you can receive 30 days up to 1 year in jail

Strict driving while intoxicated laws are put into place to ensure that drivers think twice before driving after drinking. Especially in Arkansas, where drivers with blood alcohol levels of over .15 caused almost 70% of alcohol-related driving fatalities, it’s time to put the brakes on drinking and driving.

DUI And Ignition Interlock Laws In Florida

ignition interlock floridaSunshine, palm trees, and those cocktails with the little umbrellas – when you visit Florida you get the full vacation package. But if you plan on drinking a few of those summer beverages, you’ll want to hand over your car keys or call a cab because driving under the influence (DUI) and ignition interlock laws in Florida crack down on drinking drivers.

In 2011 alone, there were 33,625 DUI convictions in Florida. Hillsborough County in Tampa had the most DUI convictions, coming in at 3,256 compared to Miami-Dade at 2,274.

Florida has Zero Tolerance for drinking drivers under the age of 21. If someone under the age of 21 is stopped and has a blood alcohol level (BAC) of .02 or higher, they will immediately have their license suspended.

If you’re over the age of 21 in Florida and you’re arrested of driving under the influence with a blood alcohol of over .08, you could receive:

  • The possibility of up to 6 months in jail
  • If you have a minor in the vehicle and a blood alcohol level of .08 or higher, you could receive up to 9 months in jail
  • Fines ranging from $250 to $500
  • Probation of up to one year
  • Loss of your privilege to drive for a minimum of 180 days
  • DUI school for 12 hours
  • Community service for 50 hours
  • An ignition interlock device at the discretion of the judge

Second DUI offenders in Florida are required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle for a period of one year. They could also receive:

  • Jail time of no more than 9 months
  • With a BAC of .15 or higher or with a minor in the vehicle, up to 12 months of jail time
  • Fines ranging from $1000 to $2000
  • With a BAC of .15 or higher, you’ll receive $2000 to $4000 in fines
  • Vehicle impounded for 30 days
  • License revoked for up to 5 years

In Florida, a DUI conviction will stay on your driving record for 75 years, and in addition to the penalties imposed if you’re convicted of DUI, you’ll also have higher auto insurance rates to deal with. No matter what state you’re in, drinking and driving is a bad idea, so stay safe and always drive sober.

Call Now Button800-499-0994